Six southern African countries added to UK's travel red list travel amid COVID-19 variant concern

South Africa and five other countries will be added to England’s red list, a month after the most stringent travel restrictions were lifted.

The return of the red list comes as the B.1.1.529 COVID-19 variant was detected in South Africa and Botswana.

Travellers arriving from South Africa will now have to quarantine on arrival in the UK, along with five other southern African nations.

Sajid Javid, the UK health secretary, has said that six countries will be added to the red list at 12:00GMT on Friday 26 November. He also added that flights would be temporarily banned between these nations and the UK.

The countries added to the red list are:

South AfricaNamibiaZimbabweBotswanaLesothoEswatini

“The first

→ Continue reading at Euronews

[ufc-fb-comments url=""]

Latest Articles

Related Articles